Peter Andres · Retrospective

Deutsch

Retrospective

My instruction manual for life

A kind of interactive book

This retrospective is something like an interactive book about me, my life and my photographic career. Since I have been taking photographs for over 50 years, it has become a bit longer. I have therefore divided it into different chapters. To do this, I also had to divide it into different websites.

Do you have any questions, comments, suggestions or objections?
If so, send me an email.

Hints

You can click on the individual images in the chapters.
They will then be displayed large. If there is +++ under the last picture in a section, then there are more pictures to see.

The following clicks will show further photos.

Icons top right:

With key * or a click on Open all / none you can open or close all subsections.

A click on Videos start possibilities allows or disables the automatic start of videos.

On some pages, the number of photos shown can be reduced.
You can see more or less by clicking on the icon at the top right

Foreword Foreword

The initiative

In the beginning there was a camera...

I have been involved with conceptual photography for almost 50 years, learned autodidactically, but also influenced by further training in workshops with great photographers. A lot has accumulated over the years, good things, sometimes a little less perfect. Many of my pictures and videos can be seen on my website and in my studio, but by no means all of them. I'm trying to give a little insight into my work here.

The retrospective

Here it is, the retrospective, my instruction manual. As an "instruction manual" it is not necessarily for you, not for you as a pure observer, pure observer of my works. Or maybe it is...? For you as inspiration for your new ideas that are awakened in you as a result. It is designed in the spirit of "open source". Take out what triggers something in you and develop your new ideas within yourself. But simply copying pictures and videos is not intended in that sense.

My instruction manual is first and foremost for me. It shows the steps I have "taken through" photographically in my life. It shows my path in the form of a retrospective look. I have become aware of many things that I had long forgotten. My new works can also be seen here, but towards the end due to the system.

Website

Early pictures can also be seen on my website Continuum and Polaroid SX-70. These pages are not replaced by the "Instruction Manual". Nor do they compete with it, because they show much more my approach to my photographic work over time.

Requirements

Browser

To view this "instruction manual" you need a computer and a browser. A tablet with a current browser will also work. Old browsers don't always work, however. Of course you can also use a mobile phone. But there are restrictions, because images that are two meters wide in the original can hardly be viewed properly on a mobile phone screen, even if it has a great name and is expensive.

Structure of my retrospective

Due to the system, I will proceed chronologically as far as possible in this "instruction manual", my retrospective, divided into books and chapters. However, you can view the chapters in any order.

In some places I refer to my other websites. These are shown in a new tab in the browser.

Chapters

Books and chapters can be opened and closed by clicking on the title.

Images

Images can be displayed large. Just one click is enough. A click on the far right or left takes you to the next/previous image. A click at the top or bottom ends the detailed view.
You can also navigate using the cursor keys. ESC closes the detailed view.

Videos

Videos start automatically as soon as they are fully visible in the browser window. This can be turned off at the top right. Icon: Videos start automatically

The videos can also be viewed in better quality in full-screen mode. Click on icon Videos in full-screen mode Videos in full-screen mode bottom right in the video window.

The challenge Chapter 1 The challenge

The career

In my visual development, not much has changed (from my point of view). Some things have. The basic idea, the composition of the image and, above all, the visual statement and its background have remained almost the same. However, it has been strengthened.

Creating accurate photos that correspond to reality was never my goal, never my passion. There are better photographers in this area, especially for documentaries or war photography. Journalism in that sense isn't my thing either.

But what is more challenging?

I was much more interested in time as a dimension, always have been! Why can we only move through it in one direction? This is clearly a systemic issue. However, it works with the other dimensions, because they are bidirectional for us humans! Time is a little different in this respect.

Why should I only show a thousandth of a second from a person's life, when it could be 10 seconds in one shot?
That's ten thousand times more!

The action! Image from the Corona series
The action!Image 20A1399 from the Corona series

Realities?

Why should the reality of a photo always be real? There is another way! After all, my photos are never suitable as a "witness statement". The view and angle do not always have to meet in the "here and now". It is enough if it will be in the afterlife.

Multidimensionality
MultidimensionalityI was here
The action! Image from the Corona series
The action!Image 20A1297 from the Corona series

Stories?

One picture can tell a story. Two can too. And sometimes three or more. It just depends. Creativity is something that makes something new out of nothing (or maybe not much more). Whether you "like" it is not important. Of course there are also shades of grey, as can be seen here.

Shades of grey?

Yes, of course! Digitally it's no problem anyway. With 8-bit it's 256, with 10-bit it's 1024, and you can hardly fit that much on a sheet of paper. Pictures are simple. With JPGs there are 256 shades per color. That gives you just over 16 million different colors. That should be enough. If not, more is always possible. (Just for your information: on paper, it stops at a million. On canvas, it's much earlier. And... nature, including our eyes, can do many millions more with colors. Or to put it another way: with our technology, we are simply nothing compared to nature. Just a little more arrogant and presumptuous.

Everything from nothing - nothing from everything
Everything from nothing - nothing from everything Exhibition in the Woeske Gallery in Berlin 2014
So let's go!

Why?

I need my pictures, my photos. I also use them, use them as raw material, similar to other people. For example, a cook needs beets, oranges or tomatoes as raw material in order to create something different, much better, something new, wonderful, even though the ingredients taste great raw.

Well, I use pixels, usually thousands or millions at a time. Since digital cameras have been around, this has become easy. It used to be a bit more difficult. Of course, you could have cut up the negative films and put them back together... but the "fretwork" in the darkroom wasn't really my thing. I much prefer playing with time when taking photos. Because the dimension of "time" in the picture is one of the most fascinating things, even when it is not possible from a purely physical point of view.

Ready?

So far everything is ready! Now, let's go! Where should I start? Actually, it's clear... at the beginning.

OK, but it starts now, here and right now. After all, many of my pictures are still somewhere in my photo archive. Some preliminary work has already been done. I called it "continuum". But not all of the old photos are included. I had kept to my archiving system in the black and white negatives. Things are a little different with the slides. Many are now in the "new" archive, the digital one. Great! And there really is a lot in there that looks quite useful.

So let's go!

But first… Rework the archive!



Continuation: The other chapters are embedded in their own web pages.
2The beginning
  • The first cameras
  • 1976 – First experiments
  • The first trips to Asia
  • First workshops
  • A tenth of a second in my life – Life as a couple
The beginning
3The way to the studio
  • Canabrett
  • The Swiss file scandal 1985: Je t’aime – moi non plus
  • Judge and judge
  • Nude photographs – nudity in the picture
  • More time in the picture: movement
  • Self-staging objects
  • Anzeiger: A kind of encounter
  • Chapeau melon et ceinture blanc
  • PolaWorks
The way to the studio
4Changing
  • Groundbreaking decisions
  • The decisive workshop with Duane Michals
  • AURAMA – perspective experiments
Changing
5Urbex
  • Abandoned Places
  • Bodie - California, Ghost Town
  • Zollverein World Heritage Site
  • Berlin – Tacheles
  • Esch-sur-Alzette mining area
Urbex
6The digital beginning
  • It's becoming pixels
  • Push pixels – Photo Drawings
  • The special train – Berlin pictures
  • Handy things – The tool
  • Reality 2.0 – Everything is in motion!
  • Composition of analog and digital – Recycling in photography?
The digital beginning
7Image thoughts
  • Requiem for a secret – financial policy and photography
  • The reality of photography – thoughts about a portrait
  • More than I can see – everything from nothing – nothing from everything
  • Coming out – reconstructing a decision
  • News fashion – the latest fashion
Image thoughts
8Lights - Play with Light
  • Let there be light! – Light Fashion
  • Photo Performance – Light Works in the Light Loft
  • And much more — Urbex light painting
  • About the LED sticks – The technology
Lights - Play with Light
9
  • Between visible and invisible
    Work group «Multidimensionality»
  • Photography and time. A comparison
    The camera's instructions do not always need to be followed
Extended dimensions
10DigitalArt
  • A little more comprehensive than usual
  • Pictures for you!
    A treatise on NFT - «Non-Fungible Tokens»
  • I see what you don't see!
    And if you want to see more, you have to take action yourself...
DigitalArt
11Refreshed reflections
  • Following the thinking...
  • Extended observations
Refreshed reflections
Bild: Author Peter Andres
Stop Previous Next
Bilder: frei Bilder: eingeschränkt Pictures: restricted / free

Copyright © 2024 www.PeterAndres.ch    All rights reserved

Peter Andres · Retrospektive

Die Gebrauchsanleitung fürs Leben — eine Art interaktives Buch
Eine Retrospektive, ein interaktives Buch über mich, mein Leben und meinen fotografischen Werdegang.

Vorwort

Die Initiative

Am Anfang war eine Kamera...

Seit bald 50 Jahren beschäftige ich mich mit konzeptioneller Fotografie, autodidaktisch erlernt, aber auch beeinflusst durch Weiterbildung in Workshops mit grossen Fotografen. Einiges hat sich in all den Jahren angesammelt, Gutes, manchmal auch etwas weniger Perfektes. Viele meiner Bilder und Videos sind auf meiner Webseite und bei mir in meinem Atelier zu sehen, aber bei weitem nicht alle. Ich versuche hier einen kleinen Einblick in meine Arbeiten zu geben.

Die Retrospektive

Hier ist sie, die Retrospektive, meine Gebrauchsanleitung. Als «Gebrauchsanleitung» ist sie aber nicht unbedingt für dich, nicht für dich als reiner Betrachter, reine Betrachterin meiner Werke. Oder vielleicht doch...? Für dich als Inspiration für deine neuen Ideen, die dadurch in dir geweckt werden jedoch schon. Sie ist im Sinne von "Open Source" gestaltet. Nimm dasjenige heraus, was in dir etwas auslöst und entfalte in dir deine neuen Ideen. Aber einfach kopieren von Bildern und Videos ist nicht in dem Sinne gedacht.

Meine Gebrauchsanleitung ist vor allem einmal für mich. Sie zeigt meine Schritte die ich in meinem Leben fotografisch "durchgemacht" habe. Sie zeigt meinen Weg in der Art einer Nachschau, im Rückblick. Dabei ist mir vieles, was längst vergessen war, wieder ins Bewusstsein gekommen. Meine neuen Werke sind hier auch zu sehen, systembedingt aber gegen den Schluss.

Webseitiges

Frühe Bilder sind auch auf meiner Webseite Continuum und Polaroid SX-70 zu sehen. Diese Seiten werden nicht durch die «Gebrauchsanleitung» ersetzt. Sie stehen auch nicht in Konkurrenz dazu, denn sie zeigen viel mehr mein Vorgehen bei meiner Fotografischen Arbeit im Laufe der Zeit.

Voraussetzungen

Browser

Zum Anschauen dieser «Gebrauchsanleitung» braucht es einen Computer und einen Browser. Ein Tablet mit aktuellem Browser geht auch. Alte Browser funktioniert aber nicht immer. Natürlich kann auch ein Mobile-Phone verwendet werden. Dies aber nur mit Einschränkungen, denn Bilder, die im Original zwei Meter breit sind, können auf dem Handy-Bildschirm kaum richtig betrachtet werden, selbst dann, wenn es einen noch so klangvollen Namen hat und teuer ist.

Aufbau meiner Retrospektive

Systembedingt werde ich in dieser «Gebrauchsanleitung», meiner Retrospektivesoweit, soweit möglich chronologisch vorgehen, eingeteilt in Bücher und Kapitel. Anschauen kann man die Kapitel aber in beliebiger Reihenfolge.

An einigen Stellen verweise ich auf meine anderen Webseiten. Diese werden im Browser in einem neuen Tab gezeigt.

Kapitel

Bücher und Kapitel lassen sich per Klick auf den Titel auf- und zuklappen.

Bilder

Bilder lassen sich gross anzeigen. Ein Klick darauf genügt. Ein Klick ganz rechts oder links führen zum nächsten / vorhergehenden Bild. Ein Klick oben oder unten beendet die Detailansicht. Bildtitel sind fett und kursiv, Bildbeschreibungen sind kursiv geschrieben.

Videos

Videos werden automatisch gestartet, sobald sie im Browserfenster voll sichtbar werden. Dies lässt sich oben rechts ausschalten. Icon:

Die Videos können auch im Vollbild-Modus in besserer Qualität angeschaut werden. Klick auf Icon rechts unten im Video-Fenster.

Die Herausforderung

Der Werdegang

In meiner visuellen Entwicklung hat sich (aus meiner Sicht) nicht allzu viel verändert. Einiges schon. Grundgedanken, Bildaufbau und vor allem die bildliche Aussage und deren Hintergrund sind beinahe gleichgeblieben. Verstärkt wurde sie jedoch schon.

Genaue, der Realität entsprechende Fotos zu erstellen war nie mein Ziel, nie meine Passion. In diesem Bereich gibt es bessere Fotograf*innen, insbesondere für Dokumentationen oder etwa Kriegsfotografie. Journalismus in dem Sinne ist auch nicht Meins.

Aber was ist denn herausfordernder?

Die Zeit als Dimension interessierte mich viel mehr, immer schon! Warum können wir sie nur in einer Richtung begehen? Dies ist klar systembedingt. Mit den anderen Dimensionen funktioniert das jedoch, denn sie sind für uns Menschen bidirektional! Die Zeit ist in dieser Hinsicht etwas anders.

Warum soll ich nur einen Tausendstel einer Sekunde aus dem Leben eines Menschen zeigen, wenn es doch mit einer Aufnahme gleich 10 Sekunden sein können?
Das ist immerhin zehntausendmal mehr!

Die Aktion!Bild 20A1399 aus der Corona-Serie

Realitäten?

Warum soll die Realität einer Aufnahme immer real sein? Es geht auch anders! Schliesslich eignen sich meine Bilder nie als "Zeugenaussage". Blick und Winkel müssen sich nicht immer im "Hier und Jetzt" treffen. Es reicht, wenn es im Jenseits einmal sein wird.

MultidimensionalityI was here
Die Aktion!Bild 20A1297 aus der Corona-Serie

Geschichten?

Ein Bild kann eine Geschichte erzählen. Zwei ebenso. Und manchmal auch drei oder mehr. Es kommt eben drauf an. Kreativität ist ein Ding, das aus Nichts (oder etwa mal aus nicht viel mehr) etwas Neues macht. Ob das dann "gefällt" ist dabei nicht von Belang. Natürlich gibt es auch Zwischentöne wie hier zu sehen.

Zwischentöne?

Ja, klar! Digital ist das sowieso kein Problem. Bei 8-Bit sind es 256, Bei 10-Bit schon 1024, und so viel bringt man kaum auf ein Blatt Papier. Bilder sind doch einfach. Bei JPG's sind es 256 Abstufungen pro Farbe. Das gibt etwas über 16 Millionen verschiedene Farben. Sollte doch reichen. Falls nicht, mehr ist immer möglich. (Nur zur Info: auf Papier ist schon bei einer Million Schluss. Auf Leinwand noch viel früher. Und... die Natur, auch unser Auge, bringt es bei den Farben um viele Millionen weiter. Oder anders gesagt: wir sind mit unserer Technik im Vergleich zur Natur schlicht Nichts. Nur etwa mal etwas arroganter und überheblicher.

Alles von Nichts – Nichts von Allem Ausstellung in der Galerie Woeske in Berlin 2014
Also los!

Warum?

Ich brauche meine Bilder, meine Fotos. Ich verbrauche sie auch, benutze sie als Rohmaterial, ähnlich wie andere Leute. Beispielsweise braucht ein Koch etwa Rüben, Orangen oder Tomaten auch als Rohmaterial um daraus etwas anderes, viel Besseres, etwas Neues, Wundervolles zu kreieren, obschon die Zutaten auch roh hervorragend schmecken.

Nun, ich verwende Pixel, meist gleich zu tausenden oder Millionen. Seitdem es die digitalen Kameras gibt wurde das einfach. Früher war es etwas schwieriger. Gut man hätte auch die Negativfilme schnätzeln und wieder zusammensetzen können... aber die "Laubsägearbeit" in der Dunkelkammer war nicht unbedingt mein Ding. Ich spielte und spiele wesentlich lieber bei der Aufnahme der Fotos mit der Zeit. Denn die Dimension "Zeit" im Bild ist etwas vom Faszinierendsten, selbst dann, wenn es aus rein physikalischen Überlegungen gar nicht möglich ist.

Bereit?

Soweit alles bereit! Nun, los! Wo soll ich starten? Eigentlich klar... am Anfang.

Gut, der beginnt aber jetzt, im hier und gerade jetzt. Schliesslich sind viele meiner Bilder immer noch irgendwo in meinem Fotoarchiv. Eine Vorarbeit ist bereits geleistet. Ich nannte sie "Kontinuum". Aber lange nicht alle der alten Fotos sind darin enthalten. In den schwarz/weiss Negativen hatte ich das System meiner Archivierung gut eingehalten. Bei den Dias sieht das leicht anders aus. Viele sind nun bereits im "neuen" Archiv, dem digitalen. Super! Und es hat wirklich einiges drin, was recht brauchbar aussieht.

Also los!

Nun aber zuerst…

Fortsetzung

Der Anfang
  • Die ersten Kameras
  • 1976 – Erste Experimente
  • Die ersten Asien-Reisen
  • Erste Workshops
  • Eine Zehntelsekunde in meinem Leben – Leben zu Zweit
Der Weg ins Studio
  • Canabrett
  • Der Schweizer Fichenskandal 1985: Je t’aime – moi non plus
  • Richter und Richter
  • Aktaufnahmen – Nacktheit im Bild
  • Mehr Zeit im Bild: Bewegung
  • Selbstinszenierende Objekte
  • Anzeiger: Eine Art Begegnung
  • Chapeau melon et ceinture blanc
  • PolaWorks

Wegweisende Entscheidungen

  • Der entscheidende Workshop bei Duane Michals
  • AURAMA – perspektivische Experimente

Urbex – Abandoned Places

  • Bodie - California, Ghost Town
  • Welterbe Zollverein
  • Berlin – Tacheles
  • Bergbaugebiet Esch-sur-Alzette

Der digitale Beginn

  • Es werden Pixel
  • Pixel schieben – Photo Drawings
  • Der Sonderzug – Berliner Bilder
  • Hand-liches – Das Werkzeug
  • Reality 2.0 – Alles ist in Bewegung!
  • Komposition von Analog und Digital – Recycling in der Fotografie?

Bildgedanken

  • Requiem für ein Geheimnis – Finanzpolitik und Fotografie
  • Die Realität der Fotografie – Gedanken über ein Portrait
  • Mehr als ich sehen kann – Alles von Nichts – Nichts von Allem
  • Coming Out – Rekonstruktion einer Entscheidung
  • News Fashion – Die neueste Mode

Lichter – Spiel mit Licht

  • Es werde Licht! – Light Fashion
  • Photo Performance – Light Works in the Light Loft
  • Und es gibt noch viel mehr! – Licht Graffiti
  • Über die LED-Sticks – Die Technik
Bild: Author Peter Andres